The experience of the COVID 19 pandemic reminded us that disaster risks are not only natural, but also include different types of disasters such as biological, chemical, industrial etc. It is crucial to understand these various types of hazard risks and take proper preparedness measures to ensure effective response efforts. This webinar series consists of three sessions: 1) Understanding and addressing different types of hazard risks, 2) Strengthening disaster management strategies through multi-stakeholder partnerships, and 3) Developing innovative tools and approaches for disaster preparedness and response.

 

The webinar series is organized by the APRU Multi-Hazards Program, University of Indonesia, and CBRNe-Natech Asian Disaster Risk Initiative (CnADRI).

First Session Theme:

Understanding and addressing different types of hazard risks

The Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction emphasizes the importance and needs for strengthening technical and scientific capacity to capitalize on and consolidate existing knowledge of all hazards under priority action 1: Understanding disaster risk. This session invites speakers specializing in biological, chemical, and nuclear hazards to learn about each disaster risk and how we could prepare for and enhance the current disaster risk reduction efforts and strategies taking into consideration an all-hazards approach.

For more information about the webinar series and speakers’ info, please visit here.

Date and Time

  • September 30 8 am (Vienna)/ 9 am (Helsinki)/ 1 pm (Jakarta)/ 2 pm (Hong Kong) 3 pm (Sendai)/ 4 pm (Sydney)

  • Duration: 2 hours

Additional Information

  • This webinar is open to the public and will be recorded for those who cannot attend live.  

  • Visit here for news, events and resources of the APRU Multi-Hazards Program.

  • The views, information, or opinions expressed during webinars are solely those of the individuals involved and do not necessarily represent those of Association of Pacific Rim Universities (“APRU”) and its employees. APRU is not responsible for and does not verify for accuracy of any of the information contained in the series.

Sign up today to stay informed of the latest APRU plus activities and resources.

Contact us at apruplus@apru.org

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • YouTube

Follow us  #APRUPlus @APRU1997